Closer to My Dreams + 3 Reasons To Get Closer To Yours!

I’m a dreamer. Always have been.

If you were to ask 9-year-old Tierany what she wanted to be when she grew up, there was no telling what answer you would get! Back then, I wasn’t exactly sure what it looked like, but what I did know is that I wanted to be the boss of my own business and career…Take that, Janet ‘I wanna be the one in Control’ Jackson!!! *snap snap*

But as you get older and stop looking at life through rose colored glasses, you realize that the path to your dreams are not as simple as the way they played out in your young mind’s eye.  You fall victim to vision suckers and dream killers that make you question your purpose and abilities to live out your dreams and before you know it, you begin to allow doubt to set in.

Here are three reasons why you should not listen to THOSE losers and move forward in your dreams and passion:

1.  You Owe It To Yourself 

The first reason why you should make the move towards living out your dream is because you owe it to yourself to do so! It’s nothing sadder than being the lone kid, sitting on the sidelines watching everyone else living and having a great time, when you KNOW in your heart and mind that you deserve to be out there cheering and partying with everyone else! There is a greatness that lives inside of you and it’s up to YOU to see it!

People tend to shy away from their purpose because of their own insecurities and inadequacies, but wrap your head around this….Not everyone is born with the creative ability to dream vividly, so If it were not meant for you to be or do what your passion calls for, you would have never been granted the capacity to do so….SO GO DO IT! Your self will thank you later! 😉

2. Someone Else Needs To Hear Your Story/Message 

I’ma keep it real with y’all…This was probably one of my biggest struggles…

Not the honesty of my story, as we all know honesty is NOT something that I struggle with {Thank God for deliverance!}, but the importance of it.  You see, in my mind my story is no different than anybody else’s.  “Fat black girl, from the hood, single-parent home, didn’t do well in school, yada yada yada”…. Heard it before, right? There are thousands of women and girls who share the same story and have shared it a million times before!  But the difference between their story and mine is just that…IT’S MINE!! And no matter the similarities, no one can tell my story or share my message like I can! Sure, the events may overlap and the format is the same, but the emotion, objective and delivery is all me!! *insert big cheesy smile*

So, the next time you are given a platform or opportunity to share your message or story, don’t shy away from it! Because you never know if there is a little “fat black girl, in the hood, from a single-parent home, who isn’t doing well in school” that NEEDS to hear it!!

3.  Because Your Soul Will NEVER Be Satisfied

Listen….Taking a leap of faith is not easy and running the chance of having your dreams mocked and scoffed at is NOT the bizness {and yes, I meant to spell it like that!}…Trust me, I KNOW THIS! But when you know that you are pregnant with purpose and there is something inside of you that HAS to be birthed, it becomes bigger than you! Your mind, body and soul will not rest until you know that you are making the necessary adjustments to live out your dreams!

Think about it –  how many nights have you been awaken by an idea, project, or concept that appeared in your night dream? Or how many times have you said or seen something that reminded you that you should be doing more to live out your dreams than what you are? That’s your spirit nudging you and saying ‘Alright now…Let’s get it poppin”!!!

When my business and blog were just a thought, I remember thinking “There are a trillion businesses and a billion blogs…What would make mine so special?’ But then I realized that entrepreneurship is not about reinventing the wheel…it’s about putting your spin on how that sucka should shine!!

In essence, LIVE YOUR DREAM!! Don’t get stuck with the regret and disdain of not putting your best foot forward and showing the world what YOU are made of! In the immortal words of Mark Twain ‘The two most important days in your life are the day you are born, and the day you find out why.’

Ciao for now,

I LOVE comments, so let's chat!!